Featured Publications

Harvey Society Lectures

The Harvey Society was founded on April 1, 1905, by New York scientists and physicians who met at the home of physiologist Graham Lusk. The group included Samuel J Meltzer, William H Park, Edward K Dunham, James Ewing, Frederick S Lee, Christian Herter, Simon Flexner, George B Wallace, Theodore C. Janeway, Phoebus A. Levene, and Eugene L Opie.

The stated purpose of the society was to forge a "closer relationship between the purely practical side of medicine and the results of laboratory investigation."

Since its founding, the Harvey Society has sponsored an annual series of lectures given by leading biomedical researchers, including more than sixty scientists from The Rockefeller University. The lectures reflect "the evolution of physiology and physiological chemistry into biochemistry and the development of molecular biology from the roots of bacteriology and biochemistry.”

Presented here are Harvey Society Lectures delivered by Rockefeller University faculty.

Jules Hirsch Memoriam, 1927-2015

The Rockefeller community remembers the life and work of Jules Hirsch, a brilliant clinical investigator and an early leader in the study of human metabolism, who passed away on July 23, 2015 after a long illness. Collected here are materials and exhibits related to Dr. Hirsch and his major achievements and discoveries during his long and distinguished career at The Rockefeller University Hospital.

Peter Sellers Memoriam, 1930-2014

Peter Sellers was a pioneering mathematician whose research contributed significantly to the first computer search/matching algorithm for DNA. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1965 and joined the Rockefeller University in 1966. Collected here are materials related to Dr. Sellers and his work, including exhibits inspired by The University's Merrill W. Chase Historic Scientific Instrument Collection, of which he was devoted curator.