The Discovery of Electromagnetism

The Discovery of Electromagnetism


Absalon Larsen



Larsen, A. The discovery of electromagnetism made in the year of 1820 by H.C. Oersted; published for the Oersted Committee at the expense of the state, 1920

Hans Christian Ørsted (1777-1851) was a Danish physicist and chemist who discovered that electric current in a wire can deflect a magnetized compass needle, a phenomenon the importance of which was rapidly recognized, and which inspired the development of electromagnetic theory.

In 1806 Ørsted became a professor at the University of Copenhagen, where his first physical research dealt with electric currents and acoustics. During an evening lecture in April 1820, Ørsted discovered that a magnetic needle aligns itself perpendicularly to a current-carrying wire, definite experimental evidence of the relationship between electricity and magnetism.

Ørsted’s discovery (1820) of piperine, one of the pungent components of pepper, was an important contribution to chemistry, as was his preparation of metallic aluminum in 1825. In 1824 he founded a society devoted to the spread of scientific knowledge among the general public.

Since 1908 this society has awarded an Ørsted Medal for outstanding contributions by Danish physical scientists. In the early 1930s the name oersted was adopted for the physical unit of magnetic field strength in the centimeter-gram-second system.

Publication Date




The Discovery of Electromagnetism