A fragment of the original mosaic dome (Caspary Auditorium), 1958
When the dome was first built in 1958, it was covered with one-inch-square tiles that were hues of blue with green and white highlights. Unfortunately, within eight months of its completion, the tiles started to drop off from the effects of winter freezing and thawing. Designed by renowned architect Wallace Harrison in the 1950s, Caspary Auditorium was part of a mid-twentieth century expansion of the Rockefeller University campus. With its intimate scale, clear sightlines, and superb acoustics, Caspary provides an extraordinary musical experience. It is named for Alfred H. Caspary, an independent stockbroker whose estate provided support for the construction of four buildings on the Rockefeller campus.
exhibit, library, Caspary Auditorium